• School Governors


We want to take this opportunity to introduce ourselves and the role we play at Harwell Community Primary School.

Whilst Bryn Gibson, as Head Teacher, is responsible for the management of the school, the Governing Body has an important part to play in raising school standards. We set the strategic direction for the school, ensure financial accountability and monitor and evaluate school performance. Our role is often described as acting as ‘a critical friend’; we support and challenge the school to attain the best possible performance and to give all our pupils the best possible education.

We fulfil statutory duties to ensure that the school is a safe, healthy and inclusive environment. We provide support and challenge to the school leadership on all issues that affect the learning and welfare of our pupils. We have responsibility for agreeing policies and procedures essential to the operation of the school. We also have a responsibility to handle complaints, though it is important to note that individual problems should first be directed to your child’s teacher before contacting a member of the Senior Leadership Team or the Head Teacher.

The Governing Body is drawn from the parents, staff of the school, and the wider community that our school serves. The usual term of office is four years but many governors serve more than one term. Staff governors and parent governors are appointed via elections. Other governors are appointed on the basis of the knowledge, skills and experience they possess. The Full Governing Body (FGB) may appoint Associate Members (AM) based on skills set. AM have no voting rights on the FGB. See a list of the current governors.

The Full Governing Body meets seven times a year, and has working parties dealing with: pay & performance; governor effectiveness; governor communication (including parent survey) and policy review. Once approved, the minutes of the FGB meetings are added to the website, put on the Governors noticeboard and are also available from the school office.

If you are interested in the work we do and would like to find out more or have any other questions, please contact the school office. You can also contact the Chair of the governing body, James Thorne via our Governance Professional at clerk@harwellprimaryschool.co.uk


FGB ToR and Code of Conduct

Pay & Performance Committee – TOR 2023-2024

2023-24 Register of Governor interests

2022-23 Governor Record of attendance Full Governor Body meetings

Approved minutes from Full Governing Body meetings

2023 – 2024

January 2023 FGB minutes approved 27/3/2024

December 2023 FGB Minutes approved 18/1/2024

November 2023 FGB Minutes approved 7/12/2023

September 2023 FGB Minutes approved 2/11/2023

2022 – 2023

July 2023 FGB minutes approved 27/09/2023

May 2023 FGB  minutes approved 06/07/2023

March 2023 FGB miutes approved 24/05/2023

February 2023 FGB minutes approved 30/03/2023

January 2023 FGB minutes approved 22/02/2023 

November 2022 FGB minutes approved 19/01/2023 30

October  2022 FGB minutes approved 30/11/2022

September 2022 FGB minutes approved 20/10/2022


Janice Talbot

Janice Talbot is the staff governor and her term of office ends  September 2025 The Staff Governor is elected by the staff at the school … Read More

Chris Smith

Chris Smith is Link Governor for Finance, Health & Safety and GDPR Appointed on 13th April 2019 by  the Full Governing Body, and reappointed in … Read More

Ruth Parsons

Ruth was appointed by the FGB as a Coopted Governor on 27th September 2023. Her term of office ends 26th September 2027.

Kirsten Christensen

Kirsten Christensen is Vice Chair Kirsten was elected as Vice Chair in September 2022 for a 2 year term of office Appointed on 22nd … Read More

Sarah Mawle

Sarah Mawle is the Link Governor for Whistleblowing and also for Sports Premium Appointed on 6h July 2022 by the Full Governing Body, her term … Read More

Bryn Gibson

Bryn Gibson is Headteacher Governor: His term of office continues whilst he is Headteacher

James Thorne

James Thorne is Chair of Governors James was elected as Chair in September 2022 for a 2 year term of office His term of … Read More

Will Gregory

Will Gregory  Will was elected as a parent governor in September 2021. His term of office as a parent governor ends 28th September 2025. … Read More

Louise Edmonds

Louise Edmonds  was elected as a Parent Governor on 29th November 2023. Her term of office ends on 28th November 2027.

Richard Thompson

Co-opted  Governors – Appointed by the Full Governing Body Richard Thompson is the Link Governor for Safeguarding and Attendance Reappointed on 6th July 2022 by  … Read More

Sue Greatbanks

Sue Greatbanks is the Link Governor for Inclusion Re-appointed in September 2023 by  the Full Governing Body for a third term of office, her term … Read More